Senioritis

Island Time – The time vacuum created by the ocean’s presence. Similar to stoner’s time, everything moves nice and slow. This carefree aura has the ability to travel with islanders and engulf you in their presence. – Urban Dictionary

beach-vanuatu

At times, senior year is kind of like living on island time. However, we have an actual term for it already, senioritis. All seniors have felt this before and seniors who are graduating in a few days feel it the most. Who needs to work, when you can just not? I think college life in general can make it easy to be stuck in this vacuum of time and make you forget some important things. I am very good at rationalizing procrastination but there is work that still needs to be done. So I have created a list of four things I do to (try to) not procrastinate.

  1. Make a to-do list.to do list

One of the reasons I procrastinate is because I feel overwhelmed by the amount of work I have to do. I try to tackle it on all at once and wind up stressing myself out. Making a to-do list with tangible outcomes and due dates is a great way for me to organize my thoughts and stop stressing out.

  1. Do the to-do list.

It is one thing to make a to-do list and feel accomplished but if the to-do list does not get done then the work had meant nothing. Plain and simple.

  1. Work in a space that is meant for work.-workspace

I recently started going outside my bedroom to do work that requires my full focus. My work has a tendency to actually get done when I’m not sitting in my bed. I go places where there are no distractions (except for the internet but I guess that is a personal problem). However, I am good about only using it for Spotify so I can create some background noise while I am working (unless the situation comes up where I spend about two hours making playlists for myself). #canthandlesilence. A place I can work that is dedicated to work helps to put me in the mind state of getting things done.

 

  1. Bribe myself with many hours of freedom!

One of the best motivators for me is free time. I like to get work done so that I can play games, read a book or play some music. I don’t like to let myself do those things when I have to get work done but I often get stressed and don’t get work done anyway so I think to think about the end result after work is done.

These are the things that I do to concentrate. Senioritis is not only a problem for college students but also anyone on a beach in their mind right now. Take some time, and figure your life out and it’ll be alright. Good luck to all of the seniors graduating this quarter. Keep pushing on seniors graduating next quarter!

Graduation

Leave a Reply

